Foxes earn Sectional titles at Wheaton Academy on Halloween

Saturday, October 31 2015 - 2015 Wheaton Academy IHSA Class 2A Sectional


The Foxes girls team won the Wheaton Academy Sectional in dominating fashion, scoring 17 points on a soggy course as chilly rain fell throughout the meet. This marks the seventh Sectional title in a row by the Yorkville girls cross country team.

YHS was led by six All-Sectional performances, including individual champ Alexis Grandys (18:00.9) and runner-up Nicole Greyer (18:03.5). Maddie Dearborn (4th, 18:22), Alyssa Edwards (5th, 18:28), Summer Pierson (8th, 18:43) and Maggie Klemm (9th, 18:43) all earned medals, while Olivia Borowiak (20th, 19:27) rounded out the varsity seven.

In the unofficial alternates race, the Foxes were led by Julia Megazzini’s 19:10 and Becca Jasutis’ 19:21. Lauren Daffenberg (19:37), Julia Schultz (19:46), Colleen O'Connor (19:54), Victoria Crawford (20:19), Erin Reynolds (20:37) and Piper Buyansky (21:16) also ran.


The Yorkville boys cross country team used a 12-second 1-5 pack split to win the Wheaton Academy Sectional with 43 points. This was the third Sectional title in program history, and second in a row.

Four Foxes earned All-Sectional honors: Trevor Wills (5th, 16:08), Cody Hornyak (6th, 16:10), Alexx Nauman (9th, 16:13) and Jake Firrantello (10th, 16:14). Thor Hester (13th, 16:21), Patrick Black (15th, 16:26) and Zack Price (19th, 16:40) rounded out the varsity team.

In the unofficial alternates race, Ben Summers led the Foxes with a 17:10. He was followed by Alex Loos (17:18), Kevin Schleitwiler (17:18), Eric Naumann (17:24), Ben Tholen (17:28) and Matt Cox (17:43).


Sorry, no photos from today. It was too rainy to have the camera out.