Girls champions, boys 7th at Minooka

Saturday, September 16 2017 - Minooka Flight Invitational




The Foxes participated in the Minooka Flight Meet Saturday, and came away with a team title and a seventh-place finish.

In a flighted invitational, the top seven runners compete against their counterparts from each team: seventh runners all compete together, sixth runners compete together and so-on until the No. 1 runners race in the championship flight. All seven runners score (rather than the top five in a standard meet), and their place in their respective races is their contribution to the team score. So a perfect score in a flight meet would be 7 (first place finishes in each flighted race). 

The YHS girls won the 15-team meet with 13 points. Mady Klebenow (19:38) was runner-up in flight seven, Victoria Crawford (19:28) was third in flight six, Nicole Greyer (19:24) was champion of flight five, Olivia Borowiak (18:31) was champion of flight four, Alyssa Edwards (18:10) was champion of flight 3, Helena Kleronomos (18:38) was runner-up in flight two, and Emily Eberhart (18:16) was third in the championship flight.  

The YHS boys were seventh out of 20 teams with 52 points. Ivan Westcott (16:20) was third in flight seven, Ben Tholen (16:52) was fourth in flight six, Eric Naumann (17:22) was 12th in flight five, Matt Cox (16:57) was eighth in flight four, Patrick Black (16:52) was eighth in flight three, Ben Summers was 11th in flight two, and Zack Price was sixth in the championship flight.

On the fr/so level, the YHS girls were led by Sara Klemm (2nd, 19:30), Sam Moreno (4th, 19:43), Anabela Penland (7th, 20:00) and Hailey Simmons (8th, 20:05) in the top ten, and Nicole Vergara (23rd, 20:54) to win the team title with 44 points. The YHS boys placed fourth with Corey Kramer (21st, 17:27), Austin Hunter (24th, 17:31), Jackson Edwards (30th, 17:49), Austin Popplewell (31st, 17:41) and Tyler Deutsch (41st, 17:58) scoring. 

YHS is back in action Sept. 23, when team splits up — The varsity heads to the Minnesota Roy Griak Invitational for the first time, while the JV and Fr/So teams head to the Palatine Invite - Meet of Champions